New identification requirements to safeguard Oklahoma drivers
Beginning November 1, Oklahoma drivers will be effected by three new licensing requirements. The first requirement affects all drivers, the second concerns drivers between 21 and 26 years of age, and the last is directed at males age 18 to 25.
If you are renewing, replacing or applying for your driver license , you must present two forms of identification - primary and secondary. If you are between 21 and 26 years of age and are replacing a lost or stolen driver license, the identification requirements become more stringent. If you are a male, 18 to 25 years of age, you must prove you have complied with selective service requirements to renew, replace or apply for your driver license.
Legislators determined that requiring two forms of identification could cut down on driver license fraud. This is part of an effort to help prevent identity theft.
"For years, all you had to do to renew your license was submit your old license," said Karen Gentry, director of Driver License Testing. "Beginning Nov. 1, you'll be required to not only submit your old license or another primary identification, but also present a secondary form of ID."
The department has developed a list of authorized primary and secondary identifications.
"Our records show that the highest number of replacement licenses is for people 21 to 26 years of age," Second Lieutenant Shane Slovacek, Driver License Fraud division. "This is one of the areas that driver license fraud is a real problem. The legal drinking age in Oklahoma is 21, and we see a high number of people trying to use fake IDs so they can drink before that age."
Drivers within this age group - when replacing a lost or stolen license - will be required to present, at a minimum, a certified state birth certificate and a notarized affidavit which is available at tag agencies and the Department of Public Safety. The affidavit must be completed by another licensed Oklahoma driver who is at least 21 years of age and who verifies the identity of the applicant.
Federal law requires all males, at age 18, to register with the Selective Service System. The registration form is available at many locations, including U.S. Post Offices, and on the internet at www.sss.gov. Oklahoma will require males age 18 to 25 to provide proof of registration or of service in the armed forces to renew, replace or apply for an Oklahoma driver license.
The list of primary identification includes
- Oklahoma driver license
- Oklahoma identification card
- Out-of-state driver license
- State-issued certified birth certificate
- I-94 card with passport
- court order with full name, date of birth, district judge signature and court clerk's seal
- Military ID card
- Military dependent ID card
- Bureau of Indian Affairs identification card
- Oklahoma tribal ID card
- Alien registration card
- Reinstatement orders issued by the Department of Public Safety to applicants with Oklahoma license on file
The list of secondary identification includes:
- Minors (under age 18) a parent or guardian must appear in person, show proof of identity and sign an affidavit
- For any applicant for replacement age 21 to 26, a notarized affidavit from another license driver age 21 or older
- Any primary identification (see list above)
- Oklahoma student ID with photo
- Oklahoma employer ID with photo
- Gun permit
- Pilot's license
- Oklahoma voter registration card
- Social Security card
- Health insurance card
- Medicare/Medicaid card or medical eligibility card
- Medical records from a doctor or hospital
- Oklahoma motor vehicle registration or title
- Certified school record or transcript
- Military discharge form DD-214 (unless marked "not be used for identification")
- Original or certified copy of marriage license or separation or divorce judgment
- Original or certified copy of professional degree, certificate or license
- Original high school, college or university diploma
- Insurance policy
- Official certified deeds or title to property in Oklahoma, including burial plots