Driver Compliance Division FAQ
NOTICE AND DISCLAIMER:
All information provided on this web site is subject to change without notice. It is recommended that all requirements for reinstatement be verified by phone, letter, e-mail or in person.
All information herein is subject to change and is only intended to be general information in nature and may not apply in all cases. The information herein is not intended to be a warranty or endorsement of the completeness, accuracy or quality of that information. Legal information provided by the Department of Public Safety is not intended to be legal advice and is not a substitute for the advice of professional legal counsel. You should always consult an attorney to determine how the law applies to you.
Q: How and where may I obtain a copy of my Driving Record or Motor Vehicle Report?.
A: You may obtain a copy of your Driving Record (Motor Vehicle Report) covering the previous 3 years at your local tag agent or from the Department of Public Safety office in Oklahoma City. There is a charge of $25.00. (This fee is subject to change.)
Q: I recently changed my name and moved. Do I need to notify you of a Change of Address or Name?
A: Yes, Oklahoma law requires that anyone holding a Oklahoma Drivers License or Identification Card to notify the Department of Public Safety within ten (10) days, in writing, of any change in name, mailing address, or county of residence.
Q: When my driving privilege is suspended, revoked or canceled, do I have to Surrender my Driver License?
A: Yes, Oklahoma law requires you to surrender to the Department of Public Safety any evidence of driving privilege.
Q: What is the difference between a Suspension vs. Revocation?
A: Basically the terms mean the same. Both are a formal action by the Department of Public Safety whereby a person's privilege to operate a motor vehicle on the public roads are withdrawn. Both actions require the driver to surrender their driver license to the Department.
Q: If I don't pay my Child Support will that effect my driving privilege?
A: Yes, it may. Failure to pay child support is a ground for having your driving privilege revoked in Oklahoma.
Q: I want to withdraw my Parental Consent for my child to drive. What do I do?
A: If your child is under 18 years of age, you may withdraw your consent for them to drive. You should visit with a Driver Compliance Hearing Officer at the Department of Public Safety to discuss the matter and initiate the process.
Q: My minor child has Dropped Out of School. Will my child's driving privilege be suspended?
A: Quite possibly. If the child is under the age of 18, and has ten (10) consecutive days or parts of days of unexcused absences, or has fifteen (15) days or parts of days total unexcused absences during a single semester, their school may request cancellation of their driver's license.
Q: May I have a Hearing to challenge a suspension or revocation?
A: Yes. You may ask for a hearing to address any questions you may have or present reasons why you believe your license should not be suspended or revoked. The hearings are conducted on a first come, first served, basis at all Driver Compliance offices. (Hearings under the Implied Consent Laws come under a different procedure.)
Q: My driving record shows I was Arrested when all I got was a traffic ticket. Why?
A: A traffic stop by a law enforcement officer is a "non-custodial arrest". In other words, you were arrested by the officer but not taken into custody.
Q: I have already paid my court costs and fines to the criminal court. What are the Fees that I have to pay the Department
of Public Safety in order to reinstate my driving privileges?
A: The fees you will be required to pay for reinstatement are determined by Oklahoma statute. The amount of the fees will vary depending on the type of suspension(s) and/or revocation(s). Further, these fees are cumulative. In other words, if you have more than one suspension or revocation, your total fees will be the sum of all the fees associated with each suspension and revocation. The amount of fees associated with each suspension or revocation are normally found on the Order of Revocation or the Notice of Confirmation and Reinstatement Requirements mailed to you by the Department of Public Safety.
For example: If your driving privileges have been revoked based upon your refusal to submit to the State's breath or blood test or a failure of the State's breath or blood test, your reinstatement fees would include the following: a reinstatement fee ($25.00), a processing fee ($75.00), a trauma care fee ($200.00), and a mental health fee ($15.00), for a total of ($315.00). (These amounts are subject to change.) In the event you are required to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed on any vehicle you drive as a condition of reinstatement, an additional ($50.00) fee will be required to be paid to the Department.
For example: If your driving privileges have been suspended based upon certain bail bond suspensions, such as failure to appear or failure to pay fines and costs, your reinstatement fees would include the following: a reinstatement fee ($25.00), a processing fee ($25.00), for a total of ($50.00). (These amounts are subject to change). (This example does not include bail bond suspensions issued concerning a citation for failure to have or carry insurance).
Q: How may I pay the Fees?
A: At the Oklahoma City office of DPS the fees may be paid by cash, money order, cashier's check, or a major credit card. Use of a credit card incurs an additional 4.0 % service fee. Personal checks are not acceptable.
At the seven (7) field offices of DPS listed above, and for payments sent by U.S. mail, all payments must be made by money order or cashier's check only, made payable to the Department of Public Safety. Payments by Cash, Credit Cards, and Personal checks are not acceptable at the DPS' field offices or by mail.
Q: May a friend come in and pay my Fees or may I make payment by mail?
A: In most cases yes, but you should check first. To clear some types of suspensions or revocations, you may be required to appear in person before a Driver Compliance Hearing Officer prior to reinstatement.
Q: How do I clear a revocation for Alcohol or Drugs?
A: Under Oklahoma law, whenever the records of the Department of Public Safety reflect a conviction of a person for DUI or APC, or an alcohol or drug related revocation or suspension of the driving privileges of that person, the person shall participate in an alcohol and drug assessment and evaluation by an assessment agency or assessment personnel certified by the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services for the purpose of evaluating the person's receptivity to treatment and prognosis.
As determined by the assessment, the person shall enroll in, attend and successfully complete the appropriate alcohol and drug substance abuse course certified by the Department of Mental Health and Substance Abuse Services or an alcohol or other drug treatment program or both.
The alcohol and drug substance abuse course shall consist of either ten (10) hours or twenty-four (24) hours of instruction. (You can call 1-800-522-9054 for the location of the schools and counselors nearest to you.)
Beyond having the alcohol and drug assessment and evaluation and successfully completing the 10 or 24 hour course on substance abuse, you must also complete all of the requirements noted by the assessment counselor. In some situations there may be additional requirements.
You must additionally serve the period or term of the revocation where your driving privileges are withdrawn, and pay the statutory fees required to reinstate. In some situations, as a condition of reinstatement, you may be required to have an Ignition Interlock Device installed on any vehicle you drive for an additional period of time.
Contact the Department of Public Safety to determine exactly what the requirements are for you. Understand that because another person was or was not required to meet a certain requirement does not mean the same applies to you. Often, the exact requirement for reinstatement as they apply to you are set forth on the Notice of Confirmation and Reinstatement Requirements mailed to you by the Department of Public Safety.
Q: What is an Alcohol-Drug Assessment or an Alcohol and Drug Substance Abuse Course?
A: An Assessment is an interview with a certified alcohol and drug counselor which determines a persons degree of dependence on alcohol or drugs. The Assessor makes recommendations and places requirements on the person as to corrective actions the person needs to take. An Alcohol and Drug Substance Abuse Course (DUI school) is either a 10 hour or 24 hour class addressing the dangers or alcohol and drug use in general and in relation to operating a motor vehicle.
Q: I was stopped by a police officer and he said I was driving under the influence of alcohol. He requested I take a breath test to
measure what my blood/alcohol level was. I refused to take the test and he served me with a Officer's Affidavit and Notice of
Revocation/Disqualification. I don't think I did anything wrong. Can I request an Administrative Hearing to challenge the revocation?
A: Yes. As indicated on the Officer's Affidavit, you have fifteen (15) days from the date of service of the notice to make a written request for a Hearing to challenge the revocation.
Q: May I get a Hardship Permit (Modified Driver License) to drive while my license is suspended or revoked?
A: Under some suspensions or revocations, a person is eligible to apply for a permit (a modified driver license) allowing limited driving during the period of suspension or revocation. You should meet with a Driver Compliance Hearing Officer to make application.
Q: Because I Refused or Failed the State's breath or blood test, I was served an Officer's
Affidavit and Notice of Revocation. I requested an Administrative Hearing to contest the revocation. At the Administrative Hearing the Hearing
Officer ruled against me. May I still get a hardship permit (modified drivers license) to drive?
A: Yes, but you will be required to appeal to the District Court of the county of your arrest. Once an administrative hearing has been held, the Department of Public Safety cannot agree to a modified drivers license without a petition being filed in the District Courts seeking such relief.
Q: What is meant by Zero Tolerance?
A: This term refers to the drinking and driving laws as they relate to anyone under 21 years of age. Any driver, under 21 years of age, determined to have a blood/breath alcohol level of .02 or higher following a test of their blood or breath, is deemed as driving under the influence.
Q: I was convicted of Drug Possession. I wasn't driving but was sitting as a passenger in a car. Why was my license
revoked when I wasn't driving?
A: State law requires that any misdemeanor or felony conviction for drug possession results in the revocation of the persons driving privilege. You do not have to be the driver of a motor vehicle as long as use of a motor vehicle was involved.
Q: How does the Oklahoma Mandatory Point System work?
A: Points are assessed to the driving record of persons convicted of certain violation of the law, generally traffic violations. When your point total on your driving record reaches ten (10) or more points within a five (5) year period your license is suspended.
Q: How do I clear a Points Suspension?
A: You must serve the suspension period and pay the statutory fee for reinstatement. In most cases, payment of the fee may be done by mail or in person by yourself or another representing you. In some cases the person is required to meet with a Driver Compliance Hearing Officer to apply for reinstatement.
Q: How Long is a point suspension?
A: For a first point suspension, the suspension time shall be for one (1) month. For a second point suspension, the suspension time shall be for three (3) months. For a third point suspension, the suspension time shall be for six (6) months. For a fourth and subsequent point suspension, the suspension time shall be for twelve (12) months.
Q: What is a Driver Improvement or Defensive Driving Course? Can successful completions of one of these courses aid
in the Reduction of Points from my driving record?
A: These are 6 hour schools designed to assist the problem driver in correcting bad driving habits. Two (2) points shall be credited to a person's driving record upon successful completion of an approved Driver Improvement/Defensive Driving Course. However, the two (2) point credit (reduction) will only be given one (1) time in a 24 month period.
Q: Are there other ways to obtain a Reduction of Points from my driving record?
A: Yes, if a driver goes twelve (12) consecutive months without being convicted of any pointable violation, two (2) points are credited (removed) for the accumulated points on their driving record. If a driver goes three (3) consecutive years without being convicted of any pointable violation, the point level on their driving record is reduced to zero.
Q: What is a Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course?
A: A Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course is conducted by organizations and companies to educate their employees on defensive driving and safe driving techniques. Completion of these courses DO NOT qualify for point reduction on your Oklahoma driving record. However, you may want to contact your insurance provider to see if you are eligible for a reduction of your insurance premium by completing this course.
Q: I know someone who shouldn't be driving because of Health reasons. What do I do?
A: You must have personal knowledge of the condition, such as a family member, doctor or police officer. Send us a signed letter stating your concern and the basis, providing as much detail as possible. This will permit us to conduct an investigation concerning the driver's health issues.
Q: I have been requested to submit a Medical Report concerning the status of my health to the Department of Public
Safety. I can't get my medical report in on time, what should I do?
A: Contact the Medical Desk at the Department of Public Safety by phone at 405-425-2059. If your condition is stable and you have a set appointment with a doctor we may be able to extend the reporting date.
Q: May I fax in my Medical Report?
A: We prefer you or your doctor mail in the medical report. However, in some situations we may approve a faxed report. Approval should be obtained from the Medical Desk at the Department of Public Safety first. Call 405-425-2059. If faxing is approved, then you will be able to fax the medical report to 405-425-2061 or 2321, Attention Medical Desk.
Q: What are the Department of Public Safety's Rules or Regulations concerning medical problems?
A: The Department has a set of rules or regulations termed the "Medical Aspects of Driver Licensing". These regulations are promulgated under the Oklahoma Administrative Procedures Act based upon information from licensed medical doctors who serve on the Medical Advisory Board. The regulations set the standards for licensing individuals with health problems or physical impairments.
Q: Are there any driving schools for handicapped persons in Oklahoma?
A: Yes. Please contact the Department for information.
Q: If I have been diagnosed with a specific medical ailment that may impair my ability to safely operate a motor vehicle, can the
Department of Public Safety require periodic medical reports and/or reexamination?
Q: What medical conditions/ailments do the Department monitor and by what method are those standards established:
- Diabetes Mellitus / Hypoglycemia
- Cardiovascular Diseases
- Visual Problems
- Musculoskeletal Problems
- Neurological Disorders
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Parkinson's Disease
- Cerebral Palsy
- Progressive Neuromuscular Disorders
- Mental Ability
- Alcohol and/or other intoxicating substance abuse
- Chronic Violator
- Request for review of driving ability
DOWNLOAD FORMS MAY BE AVAILABLE CONCERNING THESE HEALTH ISSUES
Q: I received a Ticket in Another State. Will that effect my Oklahoma drivers license?
A: Possibly. Any traffic violation in another state will go on your Oklahoma driving record. It will be treated just the same as if the violation had occurred in Oklahoma. In other words, if the violation were one that if committed in Oklahoma would warrant a suspension, then the person's driving privilege would be suspended.
Q: If I get convicted of a traffic violation while My Privilege to Drive Is under Suspension or Revocation
what will this do to my current suspension or revocation?
A: If the traffic violation is alcohol related, when your current suspension or revocation ends, the suspension or revocation will be extended an additional four (4) month period of time. If your traffic violation is not alcohol related, when your current suspension or revocation ends, the suspension or revocation will be extended an additional three (3) month period of time.
Q: How do I clear a suspension for Failure to Appear (FTA) in court concerning a traffic citation or for
Failure to Pay Fines and Costs (FTP) after being found guilty of a traffic violation?
A: You must provide proof of clearance from the court of the jurisdiction where the citation was received, and pay the statutory fees required to reinstate to the Department of Public Safety. If the ticket was for failure to have insurance, you must additionally submit proof of current insurance in your name to the Department.