OHP “Trooper of the Year” Award

State Trooper to be recognized as "Trooper of the Year" for his life saving actions on Lake Texoma during 2010.

Trooper Greg Williams On June 26, 2010, at approximately 6:00 p.m. while on routine patrol at Lake Texoma, Trooper Greg Williams observed a male subject in distress thrashing about in the water. The subject was approximately 100 yards from the shore line, and 50 yards from the nearest boat; and going under the water with every wave. As Trooper Williams approached, he attempted to gain the persons attention by yelling out to him, but the subject didn't respond. Williams tossed the subject a rope, but the subject was not physically able to maintain a good hold. When near enough, Trooper Williams was able to grasp the individual by the arms and pulled him onto the swim platform of his patrol boat. With the aid of two citizens, Williams was then able to pull the victim from the swim platform and completely aboard his boat. Although the victim was short of breath and slow to respond, he eventually began to purge lake water and became more responsive. Upon arrival at the marina, Trooper Williams turned the subject over to the care of Emergency Medical Services personnel, and he was transported to the hospital in Madill.

On July 18, 2010, Trooper Williams was advised of a vessel fire, actually in Texas waters. The owner of the vessel had just fueled his 42-foot Cris Craft at Soldier Creek and was on his way to Grandpappy Marina when he noticed a crackling sound and heavy smoke billowing from the engine room. He went on deck and told his five passengers to get all the life jackets and jump overboard. It was approximately twenty minutes later when Trooper Williams arrived on the scene and rescued the six people, who were scattered from 75 250 yards from the boat. Trooper Williams' diligence and dedication to the safety of the citizens of this state and the citizens of Texas on these two occasions saved several lives.

“We are extremely proud of Trooper Williams, and appreciate AAA Oklahoma's interest in recognizing him as Oklahoma's 2010 Trooper of the Year”, said Colonel Kerry Pettingill, Chief of the Oklahoma Highway Patrol.

The Jerry Marx Memorial Award will be presented to News Talk - 1520 KOKC Radio, The Oklahoman and KXII Ch 12 television (Ardmore) for their promotion of traffic safety and coverage of news and events regarding traffic safety throughout 2010.

Media are invited to attend the event will be held on Wednesday, March 30, 2011 at “The Centre” located at 4325 Northwest 50th in Oklahoma City, beginning at 11:30 a.m. and sponsored by AAA Oklahoma.