Parent Taught Driver Education (PTDE)
On November 1, 2001 Oklahoma enacted Parent Taught Driver Education. It became law as a result of Senate Bill 747 passed by the legislature and signed by Governor Frank Keating. The Parent Taught Driver Education Program is designed to provide Driver Education to students who are otherwise unable to receive it in school or through a commercial driving school. Oklahoma has enjoyed the benefits of driver education in conventional school settings for years and today is in keeping with the trends of alternative sources of education to target more young drivers.
Frequently Asked Questions
- What is Parent Taught Driver Education?
Parent Taught is an alternative to conventional Driver Education that is recognized by the Department of Public Safety. It is offered as correspondence study through Approved Parent Taught Driver Education Providers.
The student must be at least 15 years of age in order to be elgible to start the class-room portion of the course. The student cannot start any behind the wheel training untill they have a Learners Permit.
To start the process you need to access the "Parent Taught Drivers Education Packet". The first 7 pages will give information about the requirements of the program. Page 8 is a list of the approved course providers. You will need to research the providers and determine which one you are going to use. Do Not purchase the material yet. Page 9 is the affidavit to be filled out completely and mailed to the address shown on the form. Once the form has been accepted by the Oklahoma Department of Public Safety, a copy will be sent to you. Once you have the returned accepted form go ahead and purchase the course and start the training.
Click here to download a Parent Taught Driver Education Packet.
Click here to fill out the Parent Taught Affidavit form online.
- Is this type of Driver Education free?
No, Approved Vendors charge a fee for their curriculum.
- Is Parent Taught Driver Education a faster way to complete Driver Ed?
While Parent Taught Driver Education is designed for students to work at their own pace, it is not designed to be a fast track way to complete Driver Education. Students are required to complete 30 hours of classroom training and 55 hours of actual behind the wheel training, which is all programmed into the curriculum of approved providers.
- I want to know if I should take Parent Taught Driver Ed or go through a Commercial School?
Parent Taught Driver Education is the newest of three forms of driver education in Oklahoma. If you do not attend a public school or there are no commercial driving schools in your area, Parent Taught Driver Education may be right for you.