Graduated Driver License (GDL)


Frequently Asked Questions

Listed below are some questions and answers about Oklahoma's Graduated Driver License law and how it will affect young people under the age of 17.

  1. What is GDL?

    GDL stands for "Graduated Driver License". The GDL program gradually phases in driving privileges for new teen drivers as they gain experience behind the wheel.

  2. Why do we need a GDL program?

    Because Oklahoma's teenage drivers have more crashes than any other age group. This is one reason insurance premiums are so high for teen drivers. During their first year of driving, 25% of 16 year-olds either receive a ticket or are involved in a crash.

  3. Do other states have GDL, too?

    Yes, all 50 states have some version of Graduated Driver License, as established by their laws.

  4. What happens if I am convicted of a traffic offense?

    You will remain at your current GDL level (learner or intermediate) until six (6) months from the date of conviction has elapsed.

  5. Does the driver education course I take have to be given by a high school?

    No. You may take any driver education course that has been certified by the Department of Public Safety, including parent-taught driver education and licensed commercial driving schools. See the chart below for more information.

Graduated Driver License (GDL) Chart

Below is a chart showing how the new GDL will affect drivers between the ages of 15 and 18.

License Type Driving Privileges Requirements With Driver Education *
Requirements Without Driver Education

No License When: While receiving instruction from and accompanied by a certified driver education instructor
At least 15 years old

While receiving instruction from a certified instructor
(Not eligible)
Learner Permit When: While accompanied by a licensed driver at least 21 years old At least 15 1/2 years old

Must be currently receiving instruction in or have completed driver education

Must have passed written driving exam

Must have passed vision exam
At least 16 years old

Must have passed written driving exam

Must have passed vision exam
Intermediate License When: 5am to 10pm, unless for activities related to school, church, or work OR Any time if accompanied by licensed driver at least 21years old

Passengers: 1 passenger OR Only people who live in driver's home OR Any passenger if accompanied by licensed driver at least 21years old
Must have a Learner Permit for at least 6 months

Must have had at least 50 hrs (10 hrs at night) of behind-the-wheel training from licensed driver at least 21 years old and licensed for at least 2 years

Must have no traffic convictions on driving record


Must have passed driving skills exam
Must have a Learner Permit for at least 6 months

Must have had at least 50 hrs (10 hrs at night) of behind-the-wheel training from licensed driver at least 21 years old and licensed for at least 2 years

Must have no traffic convictions on driving record


Must have passed driving skills exam
Unrestricted License When: unrestricted

Passengers: unrestricted
Must have an Intermediate License for at least 6 months

Must have no traffic convictions on driving record

OR

Must be at least 18 years old

Must have passed all driving and vision exams
Must have an Intermediate License for at least 1 year

Must have no traffic convictions on driving record

OR

Must be at least 18 years old

Must have passed all driving and vision exams

* Driver Education means one of the following:

  • A prescribed secondary school driver education course, as provided for in Sections 19-113 through 19-121 of Title 70 of the Oklahoma Statutes
  • A driver education course, certified by the Department of Public Safety, from a parochial, private, or other nonpublic secondary school
  • A commercial driver training course, as defined by Sections 801 through 808 of this title
  • A parent-taught driver education course, certified by the Department of Public Safety